## SOUTH FIRE DISTRICT 445 RANDOLPH ROAD MIDDLETOWN, CT 06457

## **Board of Fire Commissioners**

Annual Meeting Minutes February 7, 2022 – 7:00 p.m. Via Zoom – Meeting I.D. 852 6908 0347

Present: Commissioners Kleckowski, Giuliano, Thazhampallath, and Penney; Chief Trzaski; Deputy Chief Jacobs

Absent: Commissioner Pessina

### 1. CALL TO ORDER

Vice-Chairwoman Kleckowski called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

### 2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

A moment of silence was observed in memory of those lives lost at the Kleen Energy accident 12 years ago.

#### 3. READING OF THE LEGAL NOTICE

Vice-Chairman Giuliano read the Legal Notice for the Annual Meeting as posted in the Hartford Courant and the Middletown Press on January 28, 2022.

### 4. ACCOUNTING OF FISCAL AFFAIRS FOR FISCAL YEAR ENDING JUNE 30, 2021

**MOTION** to approve the executed Independent Auditor's Report/Financial Statements as of June 30, 2021 as filed with the State of Connecticut/Office of Policy and Management in accordance with Connecticut General Statutes by Comm. by Giuliano/Comm. Penney. Unanimously approved.

The approved executed Audit Report is on file at the South Fire District, posted on the South Fire District website, and available for public inspection.

### 5. ELECTION OF COMMISSIONER

**MOTION** to recess the Annual Meeting and to reconvene on April 26, 2022 at 8:00 at the firehouse for the purposes of conducting an election on the same day as the budget vote, and any other business that might properly come before that meeting, by Comm. Giuliano/Comm. Penney. Unanimously approved.

After a discussion regarding the purpose of recessing the meeting, Commissioner Penney withdrew his second to the motion.

Commissioner Thazhampallath seconded the motion. Voting was as follows:

Commissioner Kleckowski	Aye
Commissioner Giuliano	Aye
Commissioner Thazhampallath	Aye
Commissioner Penney	Abstained

The motion passed with three Ayes and one Abstention.

## RECESS

The meeting recessed at 7:27 p.m. and will reconvene on April 26, 2022 at 8:00 p.m.

## MEETING RECONVENED – at the firehouse and available via Zoom - Meeting I.D. 876 8720 6620

Chairwoman Kleckowski called to order the recessed Annual Meeting of February 7, 2022 at 8:16 p.m.

**Present:** Commissioners Kleckowski, Giuliano, Thazhampallath, and Pessina (by phone); Chief Trzaski, Deputy Chief Jacobs, members of the public and staff members.

Absent: Commissioner Penney

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Poll voting was done by ballot tabulator and absentee ballots were counted by hand. Chairwoman Kleckowski announced the results as follows:

### 362 votes for Geen Thazhampallath

Chairwoman Kleckowski announced Geen Thazhampallath has been elected to fill the Commissioner vacancy.

## 6. ADJOURNMENT

**MOTION** to adjourn by Comm. Giuliano/Comm. Pessina. Unanimously approved.

The meeting adjourned at 8:18 p.m.

Submitted by,

Alyse McEwen Recording Secretary

# APPROVED 5/9/22

The recording of the meeting is available upon request in accordance with Freedom of Information requirements.